Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Quarantine Food

Last Online
    Today @ 5:59 PM
    Post Thanks / Like

Quarantine Food

Yesterday was lasagna. Since we couldn't have the crowd over, I didn't want to make a ham or leg of lamb and all the stuff. We can eat another dinner off the lasagna and then I'll portion it and freeze it.

Today is bean soup (Northern beans, a ham hock, carrots, and diced ham at the end) and a fancy baguette. I'm not good at French breads (they're fussy) but this turned out pretty okay. Like the lasagna, this will get another meal after tonight before being portioned and frozen.

It's snowing like crazy and below freezing cold so a soup will be perfect.

I'm set except for fresh produce. I'll run out of salad fixings by Thursday or so.

What's on your menu?
    "Alexa, slaughter the fatted calf."

Last Online
    @
    Post Thanks / Like
    Haven't figured out dinner for tonight. Yesterday was a beef tenderloin and a small lollipop lamb chop rack. Also baked potatoes, salad, coleslaw and some crescent rolls. We ate everything except one portion of meat and some of the coleslaw. Unfortunately, nobody here really likes soup or vegetables, which are my specialty. I've fed them more red sauce than they eat in a year and probably more salad and vegetables than they eat in a lifetime. One day this week I'll make some chicken salad which will last a few days at least for lunches.
    Not where I breathe, but where I love, I live...
    Robert Southwell, S.J.

3. Likes Gingersnap liked this post
    Last Online
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'd eat soup once a day if I could get away with it but Mr. Snaps is not a huge fan.

5. Likes Michele liked this post
    Last Online
    Today @ 5:08 AM
    Post Thanks / Like
    I made 3 steaks (there were 3 in the bag I froze 3 weeks ago) because I stocked up and now have to start eating what I bought at the beginning of it.

Delicious yesterday and today, by the way.